Conference overview

The subject of Immersive and 3D Audio represents one of the most important topic on Audio Engineering, Room Acoustics, Automotive, Virtual Augmented Reality and their applications, ranging from applications on music composition to audio for automotive, including 3D audio for gaming.

The 2021 International Conference on Immersive and 3D Audio (I3DA) will represent the most recent stages in the development of new methodologies and technologies on this field, placing itself as a high-profile international meeting for researchers and other professionals in immersive and 3D audio areas. It will feature two plenary sessions by world-renowned speakers, 10 special sessions and more than 100 talks about these topics.

The conference will take place online, hosted by University of Bologna, on September 8-10, 2021, featuring as general Conference Chair Prof. Lamberto Tronchin (University of Bologna, President of AES Italian Section) and Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board Prof. Angelo Farina (University of Parma).

Conference details

  • Location: online, hosted by School of Engineering and Architecture, University of Bologna, Italy (venue info here).
  • Dates: September 8-10, 2021.
  • Topic: Immersive and 3D Audio.
  • Focus areas: audio engineering, room acoustics, automotive, virtual augmented reality.
  • Fields of application: music composition, audio for automotive, 3D audio for gaming.
  • Registration and tickets: more info here.
  • Call for papers: open (click here for more info).
  • Submission deadlines: more info here.

General Conference Chair

Prof. Lamberto Tronchin (University of Bologna, Italy)

Organizing Committee

Lamberto Tronchin (University of Bologna)
Simone Campanini (Sipario Project – CIRI-EC, University of Bologna)
Diego Cattaneo (Sipario Project – CIRI-EC, University of Bologna)
Elia Bonomi (Sipario Project – CIRI-EC, University of Bologna)
Francesca Merli (Sipario Project – CIRI-EC, University of Bologna)
Marco Dolci (Sipario Project – CSA)
Antonella Bevilacqua (Sipario Project – CIDEA, University of Parma)
Enrico Armelloni (Sipario Project – CIDEA, University of Parma)

Scientific Advisory Board


Prof. Angelo Farina (University of Parma, Italy)


Thushara Abhayapala (The Australian National University, Canberra, Australia)
Jens Ahrens (Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden)
Søren Bech (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Umberto Berardi (Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada)
Alejandro Bidondo (UNTREF University, Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Jens Blauert (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany)
Filippo Fazi (University of Southampton, UK)
Huseyin Hacihabiboglu (METU, Ankara, Turkey)
Octávio Inácio (InAcoustics, Lda., Porto, Portugal)
Jin Yong Jeon (Hanyang University, Seoul, Korea)
Brian FG Katz (Sorbonne University, Paris, France)
Bożena Kostek (Gdansk University of Technology, Poland)
Tapio Lokki (Aalto University, Finland)
Ioannis Mourjopoulos (University of Patras, Greece)
John O’Keefe (O’Keefe Acoustics, Toronto, Canada)
Boaz Rafaely (Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel) 
Jens Holger Rindel (Odeon A/S, Denmark)
Peter Svensson (Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Trondheim, Norway)
Lamberto Tronchin (University of Bologna, Italy)
Aurelio Uncini (Sapienza University of Rome, Italy)
Michael Vorländer (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
Ning Xiang (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, New York, USA)
Bosun Xie (South China University of Technology, China)
Franz Zotter (IEM, University Music and Performing Arts, Graz, Austria)

More information to be announced.

Executive Board

Lamberto Tronchin
Antonella Bevilacqua
Elia Bonomi
Diego Cattaneo
Francesca Merli
Marco Dolci